skip to main content

Lightfoot Hosts Second Annual ‘White Collar Institute’

May 17, 2018

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (May 18, 2018) — For the second year in a row, Lightfoot, Franklin & White LLC has hosted its White Collar Institute featuring noted judges and lawyers from around the country who addressed topical issues of concern for in-house counsel. Members of Lightfoot’s White Collar Criminal Defense and Internal Investigations practice group also served as speakers and moderators.

The theme of the 2018 event, held May 17, was the #MeToo movement. Speakers addressed the issue from a variety of standpoints, covering everything from jury selection and internal investigations to how the federal judiciary is approaching cases involving sexual harassment and assault.

In addition to #MeToo, other sessions during the day discussed topics involving Title IX, the criminalization of NCAA rules, parallel proceedings and the privacy and safety implications of cybercrime. Lightfoot’s Liz Huntley keynote speech over lunch focused on her memoir, “More than a Bird.”

“It was a privilege to have again brought together such a knowledgeable array of speakers,” said Lightfoot partner Jack Sharman, who spearheaded the event and spoke at its opening and closing. “Each and every one provided thoughtful, actionable insights into some of the toughest white-collar issues facing in-house counsel today. In particular, it was instructive for everyone to learn how ‘#MeToo’ issues affect white-collar defense, corporate internal investigations and risk management.”

Speakers and moderators for the 2018 Lightfoot White Collar Institute included:

  • The Honorable Gray M. Borden, United States Magistrate Judge, Middle District of Alabama
  • Michelle Diago, The Focal Point (Oakland, California)
  • Louis V. Franklin, Sr., United States Attorney, Middle District of Alabama
  • Megan S. Glowacki, Thompson Hine (Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Susannah Carr Gordon, Tilden Thomas Cordell LLP (Seattle, Washington)
  • Brian McEvoy, Polsinelli (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Caroline Judge Mehta, Zuckerman Spaeder (Washington, D.C.)
  • Jim Stiff, The Focal Point (Dallas, Texas)
  • Joe Whitley, Baker Donelson (Atlanta, Georgia)

Lightfoot lawyers who served as moderators and speakers included: Tenley E. Armstrong, Brandon K. Essig, Sara Anne Ford, Rachel M. Lary, Lana A. Olson and Clint Speegle.

^ Back to Top